DEREK WALCOTT, winner of the 1992 Nobel Prize in Literature, was born in 1930 in St. Lucia, Windward Islands, the West Indies, and has maintained a permanent residence in Trinidad for over twenty years. He graduated from the University of the West Indies, and in 1957 was awarded a fellowship by the Rockefeller Foundation to study the American theater. He is the founder of the Trinidad Theater Workshop, and his plays have been produced by the New York Shakespeare Festival, the Mark Taper Forum in Los Angeles, and the Negro Ensemble Company. In 1969 he received the Eugene O'Neill Foundation-Wesleyan University Fellowship for playwrights. He has published four books of plays with Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Dream on Monkey Mountain won the Obie Award for distinguished foreign play of 1971.

Mr. Walcott's poems have appeared in

The New Yorker, The Kenyon Review, The New
York Review of Books, The Nation, London
Magazine, Antaeus, and other periodicals. He
has published eight books of poetry with FSG.
Mr. Walcott's Collected Poems, 1948–84 won
the 1986 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for

Poetry. FSG will publish his new collection of poetry, entitled *The Bounty*, in 1997.

Derek Walcott has won the Guinness Award for Poetry, a Royal Society of Literature Award, the Cholmondeley Prize, the New Statesman's Jock Campbell Award, and the Welsh Arts Council International Writers Prize. In 1981 Mr. Walcott was a recipient of a five-year fellowship from the MacArthur Foundation. He is an Honorary Member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, Mr. Walcott was awarded the Queen's Medal for Poetry in 1988. The Antilles: Fragments of Epic Memory, his Nobel lecture, was published by FSG in 1992. This September FSG will also publish a collection of essays, Homage to Robert Frost, which Mr. Walcott co-authored with Joseph Brodsky and Seamus Heaney.

Mr. Walcott lives in Trinidad and, during the academic year, teaches at Boston University in Boston. Massachusetts.

Flesh and Blood, which won the National Book Critics Circle Award for poetry, and in 1992, FSG published his A Dream of Mind. Mr. Williams is the author of four other volumes of poems: Lies (1969), I Am the Bitter Name (1973), With Ignorance (1977), and Tar (1983), which are collected in Poems: 1963-1983 (1988). He has also published three works of translation: Sophocles' Women of Trachis (with Gregory Dickerson, 1978); The Lark, The Thrush, The Starling: Poems from Issa (1983); and The Bacchae of Euripides (1990). Mr. Williams's most recent collection, Selected Poems (1994), includes three decades of his poetry from previous volumes and thirteen new poems.

Mr. Williams received the Morton Dauwen
Zabel Award of the American Academy and
Institute of Arts and Letters in 1989, a Lila
Acheson Wallace/Reader's Digest Fellowship in
1992, and the Harriet Monroe Prize from *Poetry*magazine in 1993.